Silence

Bismillah al-Rahman al-Raheem

So it’s been quite a while since I have posted anything on here, what can I say? The school year started and I got busy with work and MSA. But I’m back alhamdulilah, and I’ve got a lot to catch up on.

Silent Protest condemning Israeli actions

I am usually very hesitant about attending rallies or protests for my own personal reasons which I will go into in another post. Imagine walking into the busiest place on your campus and seeing maybe 40-50 people standing completely silent behind a row of posters depicting the images of the war in Gaza. I have to say I was very impressed. Here are some pictures I took at the rally.

Rakan's Picture

Rakan's Picture

 

Me standing with Nadia. Picture attributed to Layal.

Me standing with Nadia. Picture attributed to Layal.

 

 

 

 

People standing!

People standing!

Silent Protest for Gaza

Omar Al-Wartani

Omar Al-Wartani

All the people

All the people

 

      I recently have had some interesting conversations that make me want to clarify my opinion on the subject of Gaza. First and foremost it is completely impossible for me to separate myself from this conflict. Not because I am of Palestinian descent but more importantly because I am Muslim. Islam is infused in my life and the loss of an innocent life is not something I can justify at any moment or time. Therefore I cannot do the whole “it’s there not here” thing because it would only be hypocritical of me. In the Quran it states:

“On that account: We ordained for the Children of Israel that if any one slew a person – unless it be for murder or for spreading mischief in the land – it would be as if he slew the whole people: and if any one saved a life, it would be as if he saved the life of the whole people. Then although there came to them Our messengers with clear signs, yet, even after that, many of them continued to commit excesses in the land. ” (Chapter 5, Verse 32)

It is difficult for me to see the 1,300 Palestinians dead and I don’t even know where the injured count is at now. All this on inauguration day and I still cannot seem (with all the wonderful words Obama said) light in this conflict. Most importantly what upsets me is the lack of response from world leaders. It is understood that they wouldn’t do anything, but it took till NOW for King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia to pledge money to help Gaza. Alhamdulilah, something is better than nothing right? I suppose, but it is a travesty when you have a person that INHALES money to take almost three weeks to think about investing it into a worthy cause. I was quite please when my MSA in ONE night raised more than $700, Masha’Allah. And you are looking at students, not adults, that did that on the spot. People dug deep and from their hearts. This shows that change is not in the hands of the world leaders, but in our hearts and our hands. We know that in order to get help from God, we must change what is within ourselves. I have heard some of the most powerful speech coming from youth. And no, I’m not talking about “radical” or “extremist” Islam, I’m talking about the youth that have a passion for humanity within their hearts. I see hope in them–I have faith that if this group of youth (may Allah bless all of us to be of them). 

Basically, I’m trying to say that our intentions must be clear. Our hearts must be open and living with our eyes closed is no longer an option.

2 thoughts on “Silence

Leave a Reply

