Autumn is here!!

So lately, I’ve been really on top of my game. I have homework done (or at least started) 3 days in advance, I’m getting my class reading done every night. This has gotten to the point where I am finished with things before 6 pm some nights..like last night and find myself bored. Which is very rare for me and very exciting for my mom.

Last night she told me that the kitchen was mine for the day (meaning I had to clean it before I went to bed). I figured since I had to clean the kitchen I wanted to contribute to the mess AND since I was hungry I started going through some of my food bloggers and I came across this recipe:  Date Spice Loaf, and thought “Hm…that sounds good.”

If you know anything about me, you know I love dates (the food…), autumn, and baking. Put all three together, add a dash of a busy, occupied mind, and VOILA! I’m having fun. I followed the recipe from Smitten Kitchen pretty closely, except I didn’t have any vanilla extract, nutmeg or of course orange liqueur (for those who do not know, I am Muslim and do not consume an alcoholic beverage–even when in food). So instead of orange liqueur, I used my handy dandy substitution guide from Gourmet Slueth and I coated the dates in fresh squeezed orange juice. I didn’t have any vanilla extract, so I used a DROP of rose water to have a neutral sweet flavor and I just didn’t substitute the nutmeg. I also put walnuts instead of pecans…

Enjoy! I sure did…the batter was so good I licked the bowl… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Autumn is here!!

  1. ayesha says:

    ohhh… wow. thank you!!!!
    you have also just given me an idea. i was thinking of making biscotti but not with any dried fruit in it, coz generally i don’t like that… but what about DATE biscotti?????? date and almond?
    omg, i might have to make this tonight. i’ll let you know…

Leave a Reply

