Cranberry Scones

Dear Blog world,

I have not forgotten you, however long it has been. I just merely have other things on my mind but I have tons to share with you. Biochemistry has officially taken over my life, it’s quite sad really how I relate all my life’s issues to the science behind…well the science. A friend told me to stop basing the analyzation of my relationships to concepts I have picked up over the past couple of months. But enough about that! Let’s get on with the really cool stuff…at least to me!

I am now on Spring Break and totally like enjoying the sun dude! No, not really, but I do enjoy nice quiet days at home with the sun streaming in my kitchen and warming it up. The day I baked these I had all the windows in the house open and the breeze was coming in with the sunlight and it was amazing. Alhamdulilah. I’m hoping to be putting up a few more posts this week in between studying (yes…studying!) and catching up with friends.

So these scones, first of all let me state this was my first time EVER making them. I’ve had this bag of cranberries in the fridge for God knows how long and well…sadly I was afraid they were going bad. I hate for fruits and vegetables to go bad just because no one wants to eat them so I pulled them out and started searching through my recipe folder on my desktop. I went to Recipes > Breakfast > Sweet and found this wonderful recipe. I don’t actually remember where I pulled it from but all in all, I made it my own.

My recipe is as follows:

(Produced about a dozen)

1 cup of fresh cranberries

1/2 cup of brown sugar

Zest of an orange (or lemon…your preference)

2 cups of flour (honestly, I didn’t have a measuring cup so I used about 2 1/2 handfuls of flour)

3 teaspoons baking powder

Sprinkle some salt

10 tablespoons of unsalted butter (the recipe called for 12 tablespoons, but I tried to cut it down without losing texture)

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup of milk

Extra flour and brown sugar

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Wash and pick out any bad cranberries. What I did here was place them in a bowl of water to soak for a bit and picked through them.

    Fresh Cranberries

  3. Once you pick through them, drain the water and place in a food processor. Pulse the blender until they are chopped up. The reason we pulse is so that the cranberries don’t get mushed but rather sliced. You CAN do this by hand, meaning chop them up, however this is just a faster way.

    After I had my way with the cranberries...

  4. Dump them in the same bowl you just washed them in (preferably after rinsing it to make sure all the dirt is cleaned from it) and add in the zest and the sugar. Toss around a little until all cranberries are mixed together.
  5. Now in the food processor, place the flour, baking powder, and salt. Pulsate until mixed, then set the processor to the lowest setting and add in chopped pieces of the butter. Mix until the combination looks fine and crumbly.
  6. Mix with the sugar and cranberries. Add in the milk and beaten egg at this point.

    Everything mixed into together, without milk.

  7. At this point, sprinkle some flour onto the countertop (or workspace) and place mixture on it. It will be a little sticky and moist. Flatten it out, the recipe said you can cut it using a biscuit cutter or a cup. I pulled pieces off and formed them by hand.
  8. Place on baking sheet that is lined with parchment paper or sprayed with spray oil (just lightly). And sprinkle with brown sugar. The reason I chose brown sugar was because we didn’t have granulated sugar in the house and I really like that it didn’t crystalize like usual and gives a more subtle taste.
  9. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until golden brown. I faced a dilemma here, I put both baking sheets in at the same time and one sheet baked really fast and the other one not so much. I turned off the oven and let them sit in there for 15 more minutes and they came out great. Alhamdulilah!

When you take them out of the oven, place them either in a plate or on a cooling rack to cool off. Mine came out soft, crumbly, and light with a hint of sweetness (thanks to the brown sugar!). I was really pleased with them and will definitely adapt this recipe for different types of scones.

Brown sugar doesn't crystallize like granulated sugar, but I really love what it did.

Yummm.... =)

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Scones

  1. taiyyaba says:

    these pictures are so beautiful! i love the idea of the brown sugar also – it helps strengthen the brightness of the cranberries.

    also. i love that you measure flour by the handful. very old school 🙂

  2. sshaddad says:

    thank you my dear! 🙂 I think i’m going to start using brown sugar to top off some desserts instead of granulated–I like what it did.

    and duhh i am old school, that scone looked like a piece of GOOD GOD wrapped up with some HAVE mercy and with a side of UMPH! =P

Leave a Reply

