When you buy lemons from the grocery store…

A Meyer Lemon

You make lemon curd bars! =)

Before I go into what I made…I have to say these lemons were PHENOMENAL! Masha’Allah they truly are as fragrant as everyone makes them out to be, and they taste just as good! I’m not one to eat lemons raw, I actually can’t stand eating a lemon raw, but I could actually bear to eat this lemon. It is not bitter but rather really tangy like an orange with all the sourness of a lemon. As I was zesting (as you’ll soon come to see) the smell overtook the kitchen and it just made my day so much more brighter. I did not waste any part of this lemon…

1. I zested both lemons, leaving nothing on the skin.

2. After zesting, I squeezed them and obtained the juice.

3. With what was left over of the skin:

  • 2 halves went in the garbage disposal and were ground up without water. Lemons are a great way to disinfect naturally and keep that garbage disposal smelling good!
  • I ate one half
  • The other half I used as a natural cleanser on my face (I made this early in the morning)

I have never in my life found something that I could literally use every part of, and I keep thinking of more things to do the lemon! So….I decided to grow some and at the moment I am germinating the seeks in a ziplock bag on the kitchen windowsill. I am Insha’Allah (God willing) going to plant them in a pot and have the tree grow indoors for the first year.

Now…onto the baking part. =)

I know everyone voted Meyer Lemon and cranberry scones, but I can’t find any fresh cranberries (I love using them fresh since I made the last scones). So I went with this recipe for now…

The crust is made from pre-made pie dough from the grocery store. Just your typical, run-of-the-mill, generic brand. I did this mainly because I didn’t have time to make the crust from scratch and I liked the idea of a flaky, thin crust.

First before doing anything, pre-heat the oven to 350 degree Farenheit.

I pulled the dough out and let it defrost for a good 5-10 minutes while I cleaned up around the kitchen. As soon as it was soft enough to roll out, I rolled it out in a 9×13 glass pan and let it bake in the oven for a good 10 minutes (or until golden brown) and then pulled it out. Do not turn the oven off.

Then with the following measurements, and sorry for the rough measurements, I really need to invest in a good set of measuring cups and hide them.

What you’ll need

2/3 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (I just juiced 2 lemons)

Zest the lemons you used

1 2/3 cup of sugar (I used about 5 handfuls)

4 jumbo eggs

1/2 cup of flour (1 handful)

Directions

1. In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar until creamed.

2. Then add in lemon zest, lemon juice, and flour.

3. Once everything is combined, pour into the pan with the crust already pre-baked and allow to bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

4. Let it cool, add some powdered sugar and you’re good to go!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “When you buy lemons from the grocery store…

  1. Z says:

    since s.b has arrived and I have seen Meyer lemons at the farmers market, I will probably make this soon. 🙂

  2. taiyyaba says:

    omg this is so beautiful. the pictures were gorgeous! and i call dibs on lemons from the lemon tree. SO I CAN SQUEEZE THE LIFE OUT OF THEM.

    i love how tux sleeps with his head tucked down 🙂

  3. sshaddad says:

    Awww thanks taiyyaba!! =) hahahahah yes I have more seeds growing, enough to give you some! HAHAHAH

    Yes tux is unique, and slightly insane =)

Leave a Reply

