Alif-Laam-Meem: 3 simple letters, a breath of fresh air

Bismillah Al-Rahman Al-Raheem

Ramadan Mubarak! This is truly the best time of the year, everything just clicks. Despite all the stress and struggles of life there is some sort of relief within it all. Recently, life has thrown me a curve ball and sometimes it really just gets to me. I had to weigh things out and contemplate and reformulate and my mind just didn’t stop running. There were times where I really really really wanted to just pull the blankets over my head, block out the sun and pretend that the world stopped spinning for a few minutes. We all have those days and those times where we feel like we have 10 tons on our shoulders and we don’t know where to turn. Alhamdulilah mine came right before Ramadan and just when I was feeling at my wit’s end, my masjid declared Ramadan and we started Taraweeh. That night I went and the Imam started Surah al-Baqarah with the well known: Alif Laaaaaaammm Meeem. With the first letter, a weight was lifted off of my shoulders. With the second letter, I was able to inhale and it felt like for the first time in awhile I was above water, and with the third letter a wave of relief rushed over me and I started to cry. Ramadan is here.

I know Allah gives us trials to test our faith and that when we are faced with a trial we should rely on Him to help us out of it, He also does not bring upon a person undue hardship or a load one cannot bear. I also know that these letters do not have a specific meaning but there is a miracle within them or that they themselves are a miracle. For me, that night, the miracle was the fact that Allah lifted the weight off my shoulders and gave me relief after carrying it for so long.

I pray that all your fasting, prayer, recitation, and dua is accepted in this blessed month. I pray that Allah shield’s you and your family from any harm and I pray that He makes your trials easy for you make you from those who can push through them. Remember dear friends, we are only as strong as our weakest link, let that not be your faith because truly without faith there is no strength. I pray that Allah grants you Paradise and all that is in it and protects you from harm.

Ameen. Ramadan Mubarak =)

One thought on “Alif-Laam-Meem: 3 simple letters, a breath of fresh air

Leave a Reply

