Reflection

Bismillah al-Rahmaan al-Raheem

It is my tradition to typically reflect back upon each year every Ramadan. Most people use New Years or what not, but my starting and stopping point is Ramadan. I like to look at what I have changed, kept, developed, and learned. I thought I would share with you my reflections of this past year.

1. Allah is always there, even when you’re not.

Allah is there no matter what, even when you feel like the whole world has forsaken you, He is the only constant. And this is even when you may not think of Him all the time. While reading the Quran recently I kept hearing all the verses of how Allah listens to the prayers of the one who prays–and while I always knew that in my head–I needed to know it in my heart. This year, subhanAllah, I feel like it finally got in there and I realized that Allah will never leave me if I rely on Him and have faith in His plan. It is always for the best.

2.There really is such a thing as unconditional love

There are always people out there that will love you no matter what, despite your flaws and even what you may do to them, they will always care for you. To me those are the people who have a bond with you that is not based upon the superficial but rather a spiritual bond that supersedes outward appearances and speech. It’s like this silent understanding. It can be a friend or a family member, but even those people that are not related to you that have this bond with you, tend to be closer to you than any family. They become the family you choose. I’ve also realized it is important to surround yourself with people as such because they will be those who always want to see you succeed, even if they themselves are in a tough position. They are those that when you ask them to remember you in their dua, they actually do follow through and pray for you. I feel like in a way they are part of God’s mercy on you in this life.

3. The body is a miracle.

I know, I’m probably the biggest geek there ever was, I actually enjoy studying. But being a Biochemistry student has only done one thing for me–make love and fear Allah even more than I did. Professors try their hardest to explain the difficult mechanisms of the smallest processes and what is funny is that, THAT, specific mechanism of one specific step can be their specialty and they STILL don’t fully understand how and why it does what it does. I am truly in awe of my Creator and really everything belongs to Him and it will all return to Him. SubhanAllah. If I even started to tell you all that I have learned, it would take me years to complete it. Allah has blessed me with the biggest gift I could ever get and it is my body–and I’ve learned it is important that I take care of it because I will be asked on the Day of Judgement on how I dealt with something that was given to me for safekeeping.

4. There are people that will hurt you.

Yeah, I know. We all know there are people that are just plain evil, usually I imagine them to be like the evil cartoon characters. But this year I really had to come to grips with the fact that there are people out there, that don’t like you for whatever reason. It’s nothing personal–they just don’t like you. I feel like that was one of the most hurtful things I have ever experienced, because I always wanted to understand if I ever did anything to hurt or offend them, because it was never my intention. If I have ever done anything to hurt you–I apologize from the depths of my heart. I have learned that there are people out there that will go out of their way to make you miserable and hurt you from the most underhanded ways; and to those people I want to ask you (if you’re reading this) how would YOU feel if someone did that to you? I don’t think you would like it. My parents always taught me to treat people the way I want to be treated and the Prophet (pbuh) always taught me to be kind and patient. And Insha’Allah that is what I am learning.

5. When you have something good, don’t ruin it.

I have this thing where I kind of complicate matters and try to go down the road not taken because it has thorns… I am learning slowly but surely to express what I am feeling, rather than keeping it pent up. I am also learning that if something is made easy for me I should take that path and say Alhamdulilah.

I know these are not groundbreaking discoveries, but they are just the things that came to me as I reflected tonight. I hope the rest of your Ramadan is blessed and your prayers are answered and your fasting is accepted.

Leave a Reply

