Blueberries, Cinnamon and Happiness

I love fruits in dessert. I am not a huge fan of tons of chocolate (don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate) but only because I feel that I get a headache from all the sugar. There are important people in my life who wholly disagree because they believe that fruits do not belong in baked goods because then it adds a “healthy” factor to them, but oh well, can’t understand everyone’s logic =). So when mom asked me to make a dessert for family that was coming over to break their fast I was going to make a plain yellow cake until I came up with this idea. It is an adaptation from Annie’s Eats (annies-eats.com) cinnamon pull apart bread. Originally what I was going to do was just include some kind of fruit sauce to pour on top but then I got an even better idea–make small cinnamon rolls with fruit baked into them and a fruit syrup drizzled on top. Great, no?

So I set off on this journey when I got home from work and right after I put everything in the bowl to start mixing, I got an important phone call from one of my best friends that I chose to take out in the garage, in the heat. It was a great call, then I went back inside and the yeast started to do it’s work before mixing it! Anyways, thinking I messed up everything, I mixed it and let it rise. In the meantime I found a recipe for blueberry sauce, can you imagine it literally only took 10 minutes to make?! I was AMAZED–had I known this a long time ago, I would have been making sauces for EVERYTHING! And then I cut up strawberries in small tiny pieces to roll into the dough when it was finished rising.

Once the dough was completely done with rising, I broke it into two pieces and set the other one aside. I have to say the dough was so easy to roll out, it took just a couple of tries with my rolling in and it was completely ironed out on my work surface. It smelled great, it rolled great, and boy was I excited.

Overall, the experience was a great one, my cousin ate like 10 and everyone else ate some. And most of all, I got a great review from my toughest critics, my parents! Especially…my dad–he said they were phenomenal and that was enough for me.

Dough:

Cinnamon Sugar Pull-Apart Bread (http://annies-eats.net/2011/03/23/cinnamon-sugar-pull-apart-bread/)

Ingredients:
For the dough:
2¾ cups all-purpose flour, plus more as needed
¼ cup granulated sugar
2¼ tsp. instant yeast
½ tsp. salt
4 tbsp. unsalted butter
1/3 cup whole milk
¼ cup water
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 large eggs

For the filling:
4 tbsp. unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
½ tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

Mix all the dry ingredients, then add melted butter and the rest of the wet ingredients. Mix until tacky and in one cohesive ball–you can add flour in the process. Knead for about 3-5 minutes and then transfer to an oiled bowl. Roll once in the bowl to ensure coverage and let it rise for an hour covered in a warm spot.

Blueberry Sauce:

2 cups of blueberries (fresh or frozen)
1 cup of orange juice
1/4 cup water
3 tbsp cornstarch
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup cold water

Heat water, blueberries, and orange juice in a medium saucepan on medium heat until boiling. In the meantime, mix 1 tbsp at a time of cornstarch, with a fork, in the cold water until it is all dissolved. When the blueberries are boiling, add the sugar and stir until it is all dissolved. At that point add in the cornstarch mixture a little at a time and continue to stir. Once it is all added, keep stirring and lower the heat. Voila! All done 🙂

 

enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Blueberries, Cinnamon and Happiness

    • sshaddad says:

      I agree! =) I love fruits with any kind of dessert, I feel that they are a perfect compliment without making me feel too guilty!

Leave a Reply

