New Year Resolutions

Typically we all wait till the end of the year starts to gear up and we look at what we hope to accomplish in the upcoming year. This year I am going to try something new, I’m setting goals from now. If you are my friend on Facebook, you may have learned that I started doing some independent work with Rodan + Fields (sarahaddad.myrandf.com). A great friend of mine, Hagar Abdel-Baky, had been doing this for a year and convinced me to start. I not only believe in the science behind these products, I have seen them work for me.

I also just agreed to doing a 21 day fix with a Facebook friend, Jessica Bodin, through Beachbody. Before having Essmah (my daughter) I managed to train for a half-marathon and lose a whopping 40 pounds!

I was at my heaviest in 2006 right before I got married.

I was at my heaviest in 2011 right before I got married.

This was right before I ran my half marathon. I trained for 6 months and managed to lose all the weight!

This was right before I ran my half marathon. I trained for 6 months and managed to lose all the weight!

I haven’t gained it all back, but a good bit of it and I want to get myself back. Working out, eating right and being healthy was my biggest accomplishment in the past few years and I want to set a great example for my daughter. It is a lifestyle, not a quick fix and I need to give myself a kick starter.

Main line is…we don’t have to wait till the new year to get things rolling, we choose our goals, we choose our timelines and we choose how and when we are going to accomplish them. The first time I ran a half marathon, it was because I had been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis a year before and I promised myself I would run a half marathon. To be completely honest, I never imagined that I would actually do it. But things fell into place the way they should have to allow me to accomplish it and I am so thankful to God for that. And I am still so grateful to all the people that donated to the cause that I ran for, The V Foundation (www.jimmyv.org) for Cancer Research, I could not have done it without them!

So whatever your goal is, no matter how far away it may seem or scary the journey looks, “Don’t give up…. Don’t ever give up!” -Jimmy V

Leave a Reply

